The act of shoplifting is considered by many as a petty crime that is frequently done. While it might be a common crime, this does not mean that there are no consequences associated with it. In the state of Louisiana, shoplifting can be treated quite seriously, and partaking in such a crime can lead to a criminal record that will follow you for many years to come.
If you have been accused of shoplifting or theft of goods in the state of Louisiana, it is important that you understand the possible penalties that this could lead to. You should not underestimate the consequences that the theft of even a low value item could lead to.
The penalties that result from shoplifting charges in Louisiana
If you are found guilty of stealing property worth $500 or less in the state of Louisiana, you could face up to six months in jail or a fine up to $500. This means that even petty crime could lead to serious consequences for the perpetrator. The question of whether the defendant has any prior offenses will also come into play. If the defendant has two or more prior offenses, they could face up to two years in jail, even if the stolen goods were valued at $500 or less.
If the value of stolen goods equated to between $500 and $1,500, the defendant could face up to five years in jail. Furthermore, if the stolen goods exceeded the value of $1,500, the defendant may be in jail for up to 10 years, or face a maximum fine of $3,000.
How should I react to a shoplifting accusation in Louisiana?
If you are accused of shoplifting in Louisiana, it is important to stay calm, but to take the accusation seriously. If you are accused while in a store, it is important to note that the shopkeeper does have the right to detain you while waiting for the police. Therefore, you should stay at the scene and comply to reasonable demands.
It is important that you understand the law when you are subject to a criminal accusation. By doing so, you will be able to form your defense against the shoplifting charge.