You do not have to be caught using illegal drugs in the state of Louisiana to be charged with a crime. If you are found to have any illegal drug in your possession, you could face serious consequences. Heroin, in particular, incurs severe penalties.
If law enforcement officers have found you to be carrying heroin, it is likely that you will be worried and unsure of what action to take next. Do not delay the process of understanding the law and taking the appropriate action to defend yourself against charges.
What does “in possession” mean?
If you are told that heroin was found in your possession, it means that law enforcement officials believe that you were the owner of the substance, and you chose to carry it. For example, if the drug was found in the clothing that you were wearing at the time of being searched, it is easy for law enforcement officials to assume that you knew about its presence.
However, if heroin is found in your suitcase or in a house that you share with another person, it is more difficult for law enforcement officials to prove that you knowingly had it in your possession.
What are the penalties in Louisiana for heroin possession?
In the state of Louisiana, you will face a fine of $5,000 or a minimum of four years of hard labor if you are found to be in possession of heroin. Depending on the amount of the drug that you had in your possession, you may face up to 10 years in prison.
What are the penalties in Louisiana for heroin sale?
If you are found to have sold heroin to another person, you will face life imprisonment with hard labor. The sentence penalties will be doubled if you sold the drug to a person who was more than three years younger than you.
If you are worried about a heroin possession or sale accusation in the state of Louisiana, it is important that you understand the law. It is also vital that you take early action to form your defense.